Chekhov's Gunman

RELOADED

Community Casts Walton Goggins, Apparently Has My Dream Journal

Walton Goggins Justified

Community has long been a show with a knack for casting guest stars. John Goodman, Luis Guzman, Malcolm Jamal Warner, and Breaking Bad’s Giancarlo Esposito have all made appearances on the show and brought pedigree to the underrated sitcom, which I suppose is second-best to bringing in viewers. Even Kubrick veteran Malcolm McDowell made a couple appearances during the questionable fourth season of the show. And, in Season 5, we’ve got another notable Breaking Bad alumn in Jonathan Banks, who will apparently appear in 11 of the season’s 13 episodes, making him the new Pierce, I assume. And hope and wish and pray.

And yet, after all those stars who have worked with the venerable directors of our time (Paul Thomas Anderson, the Coen Brothers, Quentin Tarantino), today unveiled some casting news that have made me the happiest I’ve been for someone to appear on this show, and confirmed my suspicions that Dan Harmon in fact has a copy of my diary and casts the show based upon its contents.

Walton Goggins, known to people who watch good TV as Boyd Crowder on Justified, will apparently appear this season and attempt to still my beating heart. According to early reports, he will make a “tantalizing offer” that will “change the study group forever.” That’s fine. That’s better than fine! I’m now even more ludicrously excited for this upcoming season than I was previously, which is really saying something, as my calloused, worn-out heart cannot take any more of this. Such is the curse of a Community fan…

FAN SPECULATION TIME: What do you think Goggins will end up doing on the show? If posterity is any indication, as posterity is really supposed to be, there’s a good chance his appearance will be brief a la Josh Holloway, Michael K. Williams, and Martin Starr, but one can hope Walton will actually be used in a really interesting and dynamic way. I suppose, as they say, all we can do is wait and find out.

Chekhov’s Gunman is a film and television blog moderated by Kevin Lanigan, a future writer of movies and TV and current writer of love songs to Walton Goggins. Be sure to comment below with your predictions, and follow or subscribe above for more of these!

Be sure to keep checking back for more Good Stuff, and some stellar movie and television reviews, as well as my writing over on What Culture!

You can also follow Kevin on Twitter.

Cool. Cool cool cool…

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Community Casts Walton Goggins, Apparently Has My Dream Journal

  1. I had a moment where I thought to myself, “Walton Goggins… Isn’t he the Klan member who keeps shouting about his rights and getting stuffed into Will Smith’s trunk in Bad Boys II?”

    Imagine my surprise when that turned out to be Before-I-Knew-Him Michael Shannon.

    I think my biggest takeaway from this is that I probably need to catch up on Justified.

    • You absolutely need to catch up on Justified! Every season is just splendid, and Season 4 may have been their best yet.

      And, as far as Michael Shannon goes, I guess you have to start somewhere?

Leave a Reply

